Free #clicker webinar: Facilitating Peer Instruction Effectively

by Stephanie Chasteen on January 25, 2014

I’m giving two free webinars this coming Wednesday on the use of clickers in the classroom to promote student discussion.  I’ve given a lot of these and they’ve always been very well received, come join us, it should be a good time!  Each is one hour long.

  1. 11 am PT / 2pm ET:  Recording  (I didn’t get through everything on this one, but it had more audience participation.  Probably the better one to watch, but you can watch the end of the second webinar to see what I didn’t get to).
  2. 5pm PT / 8pm ET  Recording (Got through more content, but smaller crowd)

Abstract:

In this interactive webinar, we’ll explore research-based tips and ideas for using clickers in a way that allow us to achieve the full benefit of questioning –student engagement and deep learning. We will focus on the use of “peer instruction” – the practice of requiring students to discuss their answers to challenging questions with one another. We’ll discuss common challenges, share tips on getting students to productively argue and reason through the questions, and ways to encourage all students to speak up in response to questions.

Handouts & slides

  • Full package (recommended) – slides, handouts & resources, 23 MB.  (ZIP):  FIXED
  • Slides (PDF)
  • Handouts (only those used in workshop; ZIP)

 

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: